Hanger: Ares – updated

I keep coming back to the Ares, other than the DPS fest that is the Astarte, its my favourite ship at the moment. Yes it has its limitations, not least being not enough slots, anemic DPS, and paper thin tank, but its just fun to fly.

As well as the previously published fits I’ve just got myself another, quite different one:

[ Ares – Anti-bear ]
[High]
125mm Railgun II – Spike S
125mm Railgun II – Spike S
Core Probe Launcher I – Core Scanner Probe

[Mid]
1MN Microwarpdrive II
Warp Disruptor II
Sensor Booster II – Scan Resolution Script

[Low]
Damage Control II
Signal Amplifier II
Nanofiber Structure II
Nanofiber Structure II

[Rigs]
Small Hyperspatial Velocity Optimizer I
Small Hyperspatial Velocity Optimizer I

As the ‘Anti-bear’ implies this fit is for catching carebears. The rigs give me a warp speed of 19.44 AU/s and the Nanofibers improve align time and speed. The idea is that when scouting for a gang I jump into system with ratters in it, pop out a probe, scan for high value anomolies, then warp to them in turn. The low align time and high warp speed should get me to them before a non-aligned BS/Marauder/Carrier can warp out. My job is then to hold point until the rest of the fleet arrives.

I might change the Nanofibers out for Interia Stabs. That would speed up align time, and the base speed of the interceptor should be fine for the intended targets. It would struggle against other interceptors, or faction frigates, but that’s not its intended purpose so maybe its worth doing. Answers on a postcard please.

One Response to “Hanger: Ares – updated”

  1. […] hopped on quick last night to get my Ares back from sitting in the middle of Insmother. I’d decided that I really needed my bed the […]

Leave a Reply

