Hanger: Ares

I thought I’d start a short series with the ships and fittings I use. Its probably going to draw a degree of criticism and mockery. That’s expected, and fine. I’m publishing the fits to see if there is anything I can learn from other people.

The first ship I’m looking at is my Ares collection. I know the old joke that the best way to fit an Ares is sell it and buy a Taranis, and for solo work this is true. In a fleet though I prefer to fly the Ares. I have two fits, one for roaming and the other for camping.

[ Ares – Camping ]
[High]
125mm Railgun II – Caldari Navy Antimatter S
125mm Railgun II – Caldari Navy Antimatter S

[Mid]
1MN Microwarpdrive II
Warp Disruptor II
Sensor Booster II – Scan Resolution Script

[Low]
Damage Control II
Signal Amplifier II
Signal Amplifier II
Nanofiber Structure II

[Rigs]
Polycarbon Engine Housing
Polycarbon Engine Housing

This has decent top speed with my skills, and a decent point range. We frequently have a gang link running boost the disruptor range so I get a 40km point overloaded. The signal amplifiers boost range and the scan res. The  sensor booster is just the icing on the cake. It gives me decent lock time and the range allows even large gates to be covered.

[ Ares – Roam]
[High]
75mm Railgun II – Caldari Navy Antimatter S
75mm Railgun II – Caldari Navy Antimatter S
Core Probe Launcher – Core Probes

[Mid]
1MN Microwarpdrive II
Warp Disruptor II
Warp Scrambler II

[Low]
Damage Control II
Signal Amplifier II
Nanofiber Structure II
Nanofiber Structure II

[Rigs]
Polycarbon Engine Housing
Polycarbon Engine Housing

For the roaming My job is to get a point and wait for the rest of the gang to jump in and help. I fit a probe launcher for quick scanning of anomalies to warp to and try and get a tackle. I’m also looking at lower range and more manouverability.

One Response to “Hanger: Ares”

  1. […] joined a fleet that was meandering through low-sec towards it and burned from home in my Ares. I’ve not really done much low-sec combat, my sec status was 5.0, so this was something […]

Leave a Reply

