Character Development

Only one man in a thousand is a leader of men — the other 999 follow women.

Groucho Marx

Having trained all of the T2 crusier skills to level 4 the question came of what to do next. Continue eeking more out of those, or moving onto something else. Given that there is still so much that I’d like to be able to do, I decided to concentrate on a new area. The question was which? The contenders were:

Caldari Cruiser skills: I trained these up to level 3 to enable me to use Caldari Battlecruisers. Training them further would open up T2 Caldari cruisers, giving me a choice between armour or shield HACs or Logisitics. Tempting, but really needs more effort on the missile skills so, although it looks quite a short training plan, its a long term option to be able to fly them effectively.

Strategic Cruisers: The, still, new shiny of EVE Online. This was very tempting. I’ve got good Gallente cruiser skills, and the support skills to go with them. This would be a relatively short training plan to get into a Proteus and be able to put a decent fit together. Realistically though, despite the lure, I’m not sure that I’m ready to fly one of these.

Industrial Skills: I’ve still got a fair way to go to be able to use T2 crystals for all Ores, and still can’t mine Mercoxit at all. Given our new location in space, with frequent visits from hostiles and poor quality asteriods, this was a non-starter. I may yet tweak my manufacturing skills a little to be able to use more slots.

Gallente Carrier: I planned this out in EVE Mon, especially given the fun we’ve had with having to move around. I could get in one reasonably quickly, but only to use for logistics, there would be another 3-4 months before I’d have the skills for combat. This is still on the horizon, but for the moment I’ll continue to rely on others. Well, either that or buy an alt that can already fly a carrier.

Command Ships: This would need an extra level of Battlecruiser, which would be useful for some of our fleets anyway, and utilise most of the skills I’ve already got trained up to a decent level. The only problem here was leadership skills, without being able to deploy gang links these are just big, expensive Battlecruisers.

In the end I decided to go for the Leadership skills. Information Warfare V is just completing, with Skirmish Warfare V waiting to start. Once I’ve got these I’ll get the appropriate specialization skills to be able to run gang links and start training Battlecruiser V. This will put me in a well fitted Command Ship in a month and a half or so.

Leave a Reply

