Russian Roulette

Living in 0.0 can make jumping into systems interesting. Yes, we have intel channels so we should know if there are hostiles in the area, but if there’s no other friendlies in the system you are jumping into its a bit of a gamble. The sequence usually goes something like this:

  • Jump through
  • Hold breath
  • Check local
  • If there are hostiles on the gate hold cloak and weigh up the fight or flight options. Do you try and warp off or burn back to the gate.
  • If there are hostiles in system but none on the gate, well as well as can be determined with all the cloaky ships about, hold cloak and scan. Then work out the route through the system.

Its all part of the fun of scouting through systems. I don’t know about anyone else but evading gatecamp, or catching a lone ship on a gate, gives me quite a buzz.

Anyway, since Tyrannis, us Mac using pilots have had an additional wrinkle thrown into this sequence. At around the hold breath moment the EVE client crashes. Its then a mad scramble to relaunch it and log in. When we get back in we are in the system being jumped to. This makes me nervous, especially with the emergency warp changes. If I crash when jumping into a system will I appear on grid to a waiting gate camp? If so will I e-warp before they can lock me? If I e-warp then the first thing I’ll do when I log back in will be to warp back to the gate uncloaked, reducing my evasion options. I like the excitement, but I like to take a calculated risk, this introduction of a random chance event by CCP seems a bit like Russian Roulette.

Leave a Reply

